Sometimes; just pray…

Sometimes, we underestimate the power of crying. Like when we lose loved ones; we cry with ease. So that our hearts can find relief. Yet, when it comes to other things – we bottle up the emotions.

One evening, a young man sat there in the caves. Cold, hungry and weary. Perhaps offended too. HE wrote these words in desperation.

…Psalm 10 : 1 Why standest thou afar off, O Lord? Why hidest thou thyself in times of trouble?

: 5 thy judgments are far above out of his (the evil one’s) sight: as for all his enemies, he puffeth at them.

Just the same way, I sat somewhere a while back asking these questions.

Why has it taken you so long to have mercy on innocent children suffering hunger and starvation in the deserts of Africa?

Why has it taken you so long to have sympathy on helpless mothers, loosing sons and treasured husbands in the plains of Somalia and Arabia?

Why O Lord? Why? Why did it take David 10 years to ascend his throne?

Why did it take 40 years to reach Canaan? Why did it take you 7 days to make the worlds?

Why has it taken you forever to hear my cry?!

It felt awkward to realise I was crying.  But I was; and what helped me more than the tears, was the fact that someone somewhere in record, had been through rough paths.

Sometimes, knowing these things can help relief the pain of journeying the same route. When you cry out to God, your soul lets go of toxic inhabitants. Your mind grabs relief.

Don’t hesitate to pray.

Whether you say it straight from the heart or read it out of a tract, what matters is letting your heart interact with a friend who transcends the physical.

Image

Heavenly father, you who made me from clay

I come before you, in awe of your name

Thou art full of grace and I of dismay

Revive me; that I might sing only your praise

Thou heavenly father, you who hath made man from clay

Grant me the grace to cling to your ways

Purge me of sins, that the Adam in me may fritter away

Restore me; that only in you might I have faith

O heavenly one, you who made us from clay

Give us the love for those who your servants keep at bay

Whether they be frail, straight or gay.

Leave us not to dwell with our shame.

Show us how you are God of all

Whether we be Jew, atheist or not

And above all, bless me with strength to consecrate and always obey.

AMEN!!

7 thoughts on “Sometimes; just pray…

Pls Leave a Reply

